THE WATCH AND CLOCK FORUM

PLEASE TAKE TIME TO REGISTER AND JOIN IN, WE ARE A FRIENDLY FORUM WHERE EVERYONE IS MADE TO FEEL WELCOME
STICK AROUND AND SAY HELLO
THE WATCH AND CLOCK FORUM

The meeting place for watch and clock enthusiasts also @ https://www.facebook.com/groups/Thewatchandclockforum/

Latest topics

» Thursday 13 December 2018.
Today at 08:48 by daff62

» Friday 7 November 2018.
Fri Dec 07 2018, 08:46 by daff62

» Polar explorer 2
Tue Dec 04 2018, 18:23 by Iceblue

» Monday 3rd December
Mon Dec 03 2018, 13:35 by Iceblue

» Saturday 1st December 2018.
Sat Dec 01 2018, 14:09 by SeikoJohn

» Friday 30 November 2018.
Fri Nov 30 2018, 22:02 by Robti

» Wednesday 28 November 2018.
Wed Nov 28 2018, 10:54 by SeikoJohn

» Seiko skx399
Tue Nov 27 2018, 15:11 by Iceblue

» Tuesday 27th November
Tue Nov 27 2018, 10:38 by SeikoJohn

Top posting users this month

December 2018

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Like/Tweet/+1

Affiliates


visit Forumotion

Forumotion on Facebook Forumotion on Twitter Forumotion on YouTube Forumotion on Google+


Ballast BLD-7001-01 chronograph

Share
avatar
domecurb
Admin

Posts : 3112
Join date : 2016-09-18
Location : Scotland

Ballast BLD-7001-01 chronograph

Post by domecurb on Wed Sep 21 2016, 19:27

this is a brand that i have never taken any notice of before, i think i was put off by the huge crown and figured the watch must be massive too, but i got the chance of a cheap NOS one and figured if i didnt like it i could easily get my money back.............I love it !! Very Happy
Ballast are keen to promote the Swiss Made side of things, its on the case back and all over the box, however the brand appears to be based in Germany but distributed out of Hong Kong which tells me thats its primarily of Asian origin although it does run  genuine ISA 8172.220 Swiss movement
maybe this belongs in the "Swasian" section Wink
its a big watch, but the crown makes it look bigger than it really is.....without the crown it measures 45mm and 55mm with Shocked but it wears so much smaller and its very comfortable as well
the dial being black with white detail is IMO excellent and very very easy to read, i do like a high contrast dial
dial wise my only niggle is the over sized date window, i dont know why manufacturers do this as its has ruined what for me would be the almost perfect dial, its easy to see the date though as the 4 o'clock marker doubles as an arrow pointing towards the date so a little forgiveness there, but surely easier to just make a standard date window?
the watch comes with 2 very good quality leather straps, one black the other brown both with big chunky buckles
all things considered, its a very well made watch and well worth what i paid,but would now seem to be out of production, but there will be some kicking around eBay i am sure

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

    Current date/time is Thu Dec 13 2018, 20:31