THE WATCH AND CLOCK FORUM

PLEASE TAKE TIME TO REGISTER AND JOIN IN, WE ARE A FRIENDLY FORUM WHERE EVERYONE IS MADE TO FEEL WELCOME
STICK AROUND AND SAY HELLO
THE WATCH AND CLOCK FORUM

The meeting place for watch and clock enthusiasts also @ https://www.facebook.com/groups/Thewatchandclockforum/

Latest topics

» Tues 25th sept
Today at 16:37 by SeikoJohn

» Monday 24 September 2018.
Yesterday at 17:38 by domecurb

» Sunday 23rd September
Sun Sep 23 2018, 21:09 by Robti

» Saturday 22 September 2018.
Sat Sep 22 2018, 16:09 by Iceblue

» Thursday 20 September 2018.
Thu Sep 20 2018, 13:24 by domecurb

» Wednesday 19 September 2018.
Wed Sep 19 2018, 11:56 by daff62

» Tuesday 18 September 2018.
Tue Sep 18 2018, 12:21 by daff62

» Monday 17 September 2018.
Mon Sep 17 2018, 08:59 by daff62

» Sunday 16 September 2018.
Sun Sep 16 2018, 14:11 by SeikoJohn

Top posting users this month

September 2018

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Calendar Calendar

Like/Tweet/+1

Affiliates


visit Forumotion

Forumotion on Facebook Forumotion on Twitter Forumotion on YouTube Forumotion on Google+


Fila Magellano

Share
avatar
domecurb
Admin

Posts : 3068
Join date : 2016-09-18
Location : Scotland

Fila Magellano

Post by domecurb on Fri Oct 28 2016, 16:57

the Fila Magellano is a bit of a wolf in sheeps clothing in that its basicly a breitling Jupiter Pilot, the dial layout [ forgetting the colours] handset, chapter ring and bezel are the same, the real clincher though is the movement, it runs a 12 jewel Miyota 3S10 movement....the Breitling designation is B233

heres the Fila

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

and the Breitling

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Miyota 3S10
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Breitling B233

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

what gets me is the Swiss watch industry has almost demonised the Japanese watch industry over the decades, in fact from the late 60's onward various swiss makers have not only used Japanese movements, but also their designs and technology.
i recently owned a Zenith time command:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

a cracking 70's watch from a cracking maker, everything marked Swiss until you get into the guts..........one of the circuit Modules is marked "Made In Korea" affraid  Smile
there is one Modern well known Swiss brand producing a range of watches with a Seiko designed movement Shocked  i will let you google who that is Very Happy
so the next time you look at your Swiss watch...you may actually be looking at a Japanese one

    Current date/time is Tue Sep 25 2018, 17:41